email blast 9/21/18


Fellow Officials -

Here is a brief recap of the SWTFOA Annual Meeting held this past Tuesday, September 18th, at the University of North Texas:

  1. After touring UNT’s new track/soccer facility, which will be ready in 2 months, UNT Head  track Coach Carl Sheffield welcomed our group, and informed us of the North Texas Classic which will be held on Saturday, April 6th. This meet & all other meets mentioned at the meeting are already on the SWTFOA Officiating Calendar, those with incomplete information will be filled in as soon as I receive the remaining information.
  2. George Adams gave his Treasurer’s report, which has been posted on the SWTFOA website.
  3. Elections for the four open board positions were held, and Raymond Pierre, Regina Bagby, and George Adams were reelected to the SWTFOA board, and Mike Sementelli was elected for his first three year term. Many thanks to  Andy Prior for all of his years of service to the board. After the meeting, the board chose the following offices: President – Raymond Pierre; Vice-President – Chris Marcellus; Treasurer – George Adams; Secretary – Chere’ Maxwell.
  4. The SWTFOA awards were announced: Chester Bradley Track Official Of The Year – Tommy  Mankins; Conlin/Van Order Field Official Of The Year – Jerry Sutterfield; Chester Bradley Honorarium – Candice Pierre; Presidents  Award - Gary Rush, Special Achievement Award - David “Doc” Tyson.
  5. In addition, these officials were awarded certificates representing the National Outstanding Officials Award, an opportunity for our association to demonstrate an appreciation to officials for their dynamic officiating, contributions to the organization, and support to the athletes: Judith Nkwoparah, Don Osterman, Jayme Kiraly, Mark Stephens, Gerry Graves, David Collins, Lenard Henderson, Jannifer Bailey, Tim Odie, Lester Mount, Mike Farish, & Erik McWhorter.
  6. The proposed SWTFOA by-law changes were approved.

For those wishing to officiate an NCAA Track & Field Championship this coming Spring, you must fill out an application by September 30, 2018. Here are some important links concerning this:

Application overview

Application FAQ

NCAA Meet Application

NCAA Track Website

      Chris Marcellus
      SWTFOA Vice President - Communications 

Fellow Officials -


Email Blast 7/10/18

The Southwestern Track & Field Officials Association has a new website & address - SWTFOA member Bill Stacy has graciously taken on the job of being the new SWTFOA Webmaster and under the guidance of SWTFOA Board President Raymond Pierre & SWTFOA Board member Chere Maxwell has created an entire new website. Note that the address now is, has been redirected & points to the new website (and should continue to do so until 2026) so if you forget and still enter the .com address you will still arrive at the new website. If for some reason you enter the .com address & it takes you to the old website, simply refresh your browser or clear your browser's cache. Lets get into the habit of using the address from now on.

For entries on the SWTFOA Officiating Calendar, contact myself at or Bill Stacy at, and we will get the meets on the Officiating Calendar.

The SWTFOA Annual Meeting will be on Tuesday, September 18th, at 7 pm, at a site TBA (which I hope to have locked down in the next few days, and will send an e-mail when it is). Four board positions are up for election at this years meeting, an online board nomination form is available - nominees must be SWTFOA members & certified USATF officials (including current SafeSport, USATF membership, & background check). You must provide contact info for the nominee(s) so that they may be contacted to verify their intention to run, and you do not need to provide a total of four nominees. The online board nomination form will close at midnight on Sunday, September 16th - any nominations from that point forward will need to be made from the floor at  the SWTFOA Annual Meeting.

Nominations are still needed for the SWTFOA awards which will be awarded at the SWTFOA Annual Meeting - nominations can be made via the online award nomination form. The three awards available are the Chester Bradley Track Official Of The Year, the Conlin-Van Order Field Official Of The Year, and the awarding of the Chester Bradley Honorarium.The criteria for the Chester Bradley Honorarium are on the online award nomination form, a PDF file with more information about the honorarium will be on the SWTFOA website soon,.

The SWTFOA is looking for someone to manage (and in most instances create) our presence on social media - Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc....If you are interested contact SWTFOA President Raymond Pierre at or Chere Maxwell at

The SWTFOA Board is excited about the new SWTFOA website, and look froward to seeing everyone at the SWTFOA Annual Meeting on September 18th.

SWTFOA Board Nomination Form
SWTFOA Award Nomination Form

The online nomination forms are available on the SWTFOA website on the Links page.

Chris Marcellus
SWTFOA Vice President